Skip to content

Tour De Vaap

A compilation of music from 417

The-National-Trouble-Will-Find-Me-608x608

In May, The National released their sixth studio album, Trouble Will Find Me,  and ever since it’s been on pretty consistent rotation on my iTunes and has become one of my favorite albums of the summer if not of all time.  The National just seem to get better and better with age, releasing albums of music that is both beautiful and meaningful.  Today, I was listening to that album yet again when a friend let me in on an international secret that had somehow eluded me.  As a bonus track on the Japanese album release, The National performed a cover of “Learning” by Perfume Genius.  We already love Perfume Genius here at TDV, so when I heard this I was ecstatic and immediately played the track.  “Learning” as done by The National seems so natural I barely believe this was a cover.  Distorted guitars drift in and out of a warm piano, all overpowered by Matt Berninger’s baritone singing, “no one will answer your prayers until you take off that dress.”  The somber song fits right in with The National’s catalogue and it makes for a fitting end to a fantastic album.  If you’re a fan of either band, you’ll definitely want to check out the song below and maybe buy the album from Japan while you’re at it.

-M. Kauf

The National – Learning

Tags: , , ,

