Skip to content

Tour De Vaap

A compilation of music from 417

Daily Archives: July 1, 2013

banks

I spent the past weekend in NYC, visiting friends, relaxing and trying to avoid dehydration in the humid humid summer heat of the city.  But when my friends and I get together one thing that always happens is music exchange.  During our hours of playing music for each other, one of my friends played a Peter Gabriel cover by this artist Banks.  At first, I was a little weirded out by the cover, which for me took away some of the positive energy of “In Your Eyes”.  But after a couple of listens, I came to really enjoy the song and was also impressed by this singer for her amazing voice and ability to completely transform the song.  After returning from the city, I accidentally stumbled upon the artist again, finding that she (Jillian Banks) has a few amazing songs online, an even better voice than I thought, and you can only reach her by phone.  Her website leads only to a facebook page with a message saying to contact her on her phone as she’s not big on social media.  What I did find out was that Banks is an LA singer who is going to release her debut EP in the fall.  Once again, Banks impressed me: with close to no social media, she has managed to reach hundreds of blogs and fans who want to know more.  That such a small artist could reach such heights without much internet is amazing.  But reach aside, Banks is a great musician.  Her songs range from the sultry and smooth (“Warm Water”) to a kind of modern R&B anthem (“Fall Over”).  Below, you can check out one of her songs.  We’ll keep you updated about this EP, it’s gonna be a good one.

Banks – Fall Over

 

Tags: , , , ,

