Skip to content

Tour De Vaap

A compilation of music from 417

Daily Archives: October 5, 2011

Yeah, yeah, it’s just a Ciroc in the cooler
Not a day off but I’m still Ferris Bueller

Big K.R.I.T. is a southern boy atta Mississippi who doesn’t claim to be a thug, but more of a representer of the old-school southern hip-hop revival. As a producer and a rapper, K.R.I.T is trying to bring back the old southern sounds, and we’re not taking about the likes of Waka or Gucci, but more of a laidback Outkast in the early years spitting some conscious rhymes of real life. Dropping the Return of 4Eva mixtape earlier this year to great reviews, K.R.I.T. has been on the scene and has been touring around with Curren$y, Method Man and Smoke DZA on the Smoker’s Tour (coming to a city near year) and making a buzz for himself. In this kinda old track, K.R.I.T. flips the Adele song, “Hometown Glory” and just flows on top of it. This is one of my favorites, and if you are feeling it, check out Return of 4Eva for some more. Enjoy. – D. Gold

I recently stumbled upon this instrumental by a band called Traxx, supposedly a one man band from Paris.  The sole member, Thomas Gallicani, did some amazing work here, creating a summery song that takes elements of chillwave and some late ’80s rock and combines them into the best instrumental jam I’ve heard in a long time.  It must be that combination of flange guitar, synthesizer and those echoing hand claps, not to mention a solid guitar solo in the middle of the song.  If anyone finds out more about this artist, please let me know because I need more “Yesterdays” in my life.

-M. Kauf

Traxx – Yesterdays

Tags: , , ,